Small Breed Rescue of Southern California

Adoption Details For Zilla!





Type Dog
Primary Breed Chihuahua
Secondary Breed
Name Zilla
Gender Male
Spayed / Neutered Yes
Primary Color White
Secondary Color Red
Pattern
Age 5 Year(s) 10 Month(s) Old
Weight 4 lbs. 12 oz.
Markings
Hi! My name is Zilla and my foster mom calls me Silly Zilly.

I am a 5 year 4-month-old neutered male Chihuahua mix. I came into the shelter as a stray with another dog and though my past is a mystery, it seems that I wasn't socialized with people enough when I was a puppy but I love animals.

I really enjoy the company of other animals and would be a great companion for them. I really have fun with my foster mom's cats and can be very playful with them. At only 4lbs, I have also lived with other small dogs and a very large German Shepherd mix. I must go to a home that has another dog who can show me the ropes.

I enjoy a variety of toys whether they are big toys, small toys, or cat toys. I just love toys. My foster mom will pick up all the toys I leave around and put them in the toy box. I like to help her by making sure the toy box gets emptied at every opportunity. I really like this game.

I am crate trained and like to go in there when I get scared. I am still nervous with people and need a quieter home where someone will be patient and continue to help me build trust.

My foster family has been working with me and I have started being sassy and playful with them as long as they are not too close. I am also starting to come up to them to sniff or lick their hand or arm.

I am still learning to be comfortable on a leash. At first, all I could do was lay down but now I'm building confidence and can take several steps, lay down for a minute, and take more steps. I'm sure as we continue to work on this, I will be more comfortable with it. Also, I am not housebroken yet but I am learning to use the potty pad. Belly bands help me and I prefer them in bright cheery colors!

My foster family says there is a lot to love and enjoy about me and that I can be a fun little guy. I just also need some help in a few areas to overcome some of my fears and complete my training.

If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please complete an application by clicking the button below and you will be contacted soon.

Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications for interested parties who are in or near San Diego County, California at this time.