Small Breed Rescue of Southern California

Adoption Details For Garth!

Type Dog
Primary Breed Chihuahua
Secondary Breed Undertermined
Name Garth
Gender Male
Spayed / Neutered Yes
Primary Color Blonde
Secondary Color White
Age 9 Year(s) 12 Month(s) Old
Weight 7 lbs. 0 oz.

Hi! My name is Garth. I'm sometimes called Garth-a-mus or Grumpleupagus because of my muppet-esque look and demeanor.

I was rescued after I was found abandoned in an apartment with another small dog. To help me work through the anxiety of that experience, I was transferred to the rescue to help me find my footing and my new forever home!

Along with patience, love, and training, I am also on Prozac to help me retain my stability. I'm so much happier than I used to be because of it!
I have become more comfortable with my fosters and I get very excited when they come home from work. I show them this by running around their legs then jumping on the couch and asking for pets. I also like to jump into their lap and kiss their faces. They'll put my bed in their lap so I can lay down and hang out with them. While I do enjoy being in their lap, I am an all 4 on the floor kinda pup. I'm far too mature to be carried around all the time like a baby ;)

My fosters have a REALLY big dog and a couple of cats. I’ve learned that cats can be okay and we can hang out together without bothering each other. I like to play with the big guy though. He can be a lot of fun and we keep our fosters busy since we both want to play with them at the same time. I’ll get a toy and drop it in their lap or at their feet and sit pretty to get them to play with me. My favorite activity is taking long naps on the sofa. So, so nice. I also like to play with other dogs my size and would do well in a home with them but I can also be on my own as well. While I enjoy spending quality time with my people friends, I am also content to spend time on my own as I have an independent spirit.

I'm a happy-go-lucky guy when I am able to be independent. I'm more of a let's hang out as pals kind of dog, rather than a lap lover or cuddler. I'm perfectly happy to follow you around, watch what you are doing, and going on outings like buddies. Though I do get along with most, I would not do well in a home with small children.

If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please complete an application (click the button below) and you will be contacted to set up a date.

Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications for interested parties who are in or near San Diego County, California at this time.