Adoption Details For Armando!

Profile Image
Animal Id:
Date Created:
12/9/2022 8:33:00 AM
11 Year(s) 7 Month(s) Old
Primary Breed:
Spayed / Neutered:
Secondary Breed:
Primary Color:
Secondary Color:
8 lbs

Hi! My name is Armando but my friends call me Mondo.

One of my favorite things to do if you have carpet is roll around on my back first thing in the morning when I wake up. It feels so good! And then I run back and forth to get the blood flowing so I am ready to go outside. It's like I just know that today, just like yesterday, is going to be a great day!

I am a shy (at first) but loving little dog. I love to go on outings with my people and pup friends but I need a little time getting to know new people. My fun things to do are dancing in the morning down the hall to go outside and dancing at mealtime. Okay, I just love dancing!

To some, I seem tough on the outside but I really am a teddy bear on the inside once you get to know me. I will admit, I do still have some trust issues so I will need you to take it slow with me, let me come to you, and have some tasty treats on hand and I will warm up fairly quickly.

I will want to be where you are but it will be best to just let me tag along with you until we get to know each other better. Eventually, I will rub my head on your leg, sit next to you on the couch, and possibly even sleep on your lap while you watch TV.

I was originally found as a stray when I was a pup. Scared I made poor choices so I went to a long-term foster home to learn how to deal with my emotions and to choose my reactions in a more mature fashion. They gave me the name Armando so it’s the only name I know.

Now that I am better and more mature, oh and the pandemic is over, I am ready to find my forever home, could it be with you?

Because of my size and personality, I will do best in a home with no children. I can live with another dog close to my size if they don’t mind me being a little bossy every once in a while. I prefer to have another pup around to show me the ropes and to learn from in terms of who to trust. I won’t feel targeted if there is more than one of us.

As I shared before, I adore snuggling but I don’t share my cuddles with just anyone, I prefer to get to know you a bit first. It takes me a little time to become comfortable with new people and places.

I like to take my time approaching new situations and I need people to allow me to not be rushed. If allowed to go at my own pace I will warm up as I become more familiar with you, the environment, and the new routine. I have been attending adoption events and letting so many people give me treats and pet me, even some have been able to pick me up. Oh, and I am always up for going out on a walk too.

While I am crate trained, I prefer to have it open as an option for a safe place rather than being locked in.

Exercise keeps me happy and content and I am happy to wear my harness until we are totally comfortable with each other. This way you can easily clip the leash on so we can go on walks without either of us feeling uncomfortable. Eventually, we won’t need to be so cautious. I may surprise you as to how fast I feel at home with you! Trust me, once you get to know me you will just adore me and my cute playful ness!

If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please click the Adoption Application button below and an adoption counselor will reach back out to you.

Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications from interested parties who are in or near North County, San Diego, California at this time.