Small Breed Rescue of Southern California

Adoption Details For Bella!

Type Dog
Primary Breed Pug
Secondary Breed
Name Bella
Gender Female
Spayed / Neutered Yes
Primary Color White
Secondary Color
Age 9 Year(s) 1 Month(s) Old
Weight 15 lbs. 0 oz.

Hi! My name is Bella because I am beautiful inside and out.

I’m happy-go-lucky, carefree, engaging, adaptive, and cheerful, just a really great 17 lb dog all around! I have a happy disposition and I love all people.

Though most people consider 8.5 yrs old a senior dog, I am FULL of energy and looking for a home that wants to spend lots of time with me. I wasn’t taken out on many walks in my previous life so I am still learning to walk well on a leash but I am all about the go go go.

If you are looking for a partner to get you out of the house, that’s exactly what I am looking for too!

I get along with people and dogs that are bigger than me If I'm given a proper introduction to both. This means that I can live in a home with another larger dog who wants to be my buddy or I can be and only dog, which I may prefer to be the center of your world instead.

Having said that, this also means that dog parks and off-leash beaches are not my things and I am not good with dogs smaller than me or cats. I just wasn’t socialized with them so I didn’t learn to be nice to them.

My foster parents have helped me to learn manners or what we call 'Petiquette' and how to be calm because sometimes I have trouble controlling my excitement. While I know 'sit', 'come', and 'off' and I walk on a leash with a harness I do still pull a bit.

As I said in my previous life, I didn’t get out much and I was actually overweight! I’ve slimmed down because of walks and adoption events, yay me!

I found myself homeless at the end of September 2022 when my owner passed away. While there were several people trying to help me, I bounced around a little bit until I finally made it to the rescue, whew! It’s been great here but I am so so ready for a home with personal attention, love, toys, treats, walks, and freedoms!

As an older dog, I'm 8 yrs young, I will need to have regular annual medical checkups but the good news, is I have had all of my medical checkups taken care of while here for the year – vaccines, microchip, and a dental – and I was already spayed. AND Unlike other Pugs, I don't have the knee and joint issues that are common.

If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please click the Adoption Application button below and an adoption counselor will reach back out to you.

Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications from interested parties who are in or near North County, San Diego, California at this time.