Adoption Details For Odie!


This animal is no longer available for adoption



Profile Image
Name:
Odie
Animal Id:
9392
Date Created:
12/12/2022 9:49:12 PM
Age:
7 Year(s) 7 Month(s) Old
Type:
Dog
Gender:
Male
Primary Breed:
Dachshund
Spayed / Neutered:
Yes
Secondary Breed:
Pug
Microchip:
Primary Color:
Tan
Markings:
Secondary Color:
White
Pattern:
Weight:
25 lbs

Hi! My name is Odie, like Garfield’s Sidekick but I’m an independent guy.

I found myself homeless at the end of September 2022 when my owner passed away. While there were several people trying to help me, I bounced around a little bit until I finally made it to the rescue, whew!

I’m happy-go-lucky, carefree, engaging, adaptive, and cheerful, really a great dog all around! I have a happy disposition and I love all people.
I can’t think of anything better than getting love and attention from my family! Affection is my middle name! Nothing would make me happier than to find a family to devote myself to! You won’t find a more dedicated, loving companion!

While I do get along with people, I don’t play well with other dogs/cats so I would need to be the only pet in the home. This also means that dog parks and beaches are not my things.

My foster parents have helped me to learn manners or what we call 'Petiquette' and how to be calm because sometimes I have trouble controlling my excitement.

While I know sit/come / off / and I walk on a leash with a harness, walking around others is new for me.

In my previous life, I didn’t get out much and I was actually overweight! I’ve slimmed down because of walks and adoption events, yay me!
While is LOVE to go on walks remember this is new for me so I may bark at strangers and other dogs until I get used to things. The rescue can help you to help me with this, no problem!

If needed I am crate trained and while I am potty trained too, you will need to take me out frequently until I learn how to let you know.
I will need to have regular annual medical checkups but the good news, is I have had all of my medical checkups taken care of while here for the year – vaccines, microchip, and a dental – and I was already neutered.

I would make a great playmate but would also love to join you on the couch, I’m happy either way! I am very friendly and outgoing. I love walks, car rides, TV time, cuddle time, and I can also respect alone time. I am a pretty well-rounded, all-in-one pup!

If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please click the Adoption Application button below and an adoption counselor will reach back out to you.

Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications from interested parties who are in or near North County, San Diego, California at this time.




This animal is no longer available for adoption