Small Breed Rescue of Southern California

Adoption Details For Gilligan!





Type Dog
Primary Breed Chihuahua
Secondary Breed
Name Gilligan
Gender Male
Spayed / Neutered Yes
Primary Color Tan
Secondary Color
Pattern
Age 6 Year(s) 2 Month(s) Old
Weight 5 lbs. 7 oz.
Markings
Hi! My name is Gilligan after the 1960's TV show character because I can be a little bit unknowing, I tend to bumble, and I can be accident/stumble-prone, but my heart is gigantic and my intentions are pure.

A few of my family members and I came from a major hoarding situation so while I am friendly, I am also horribly bashful and a bit shy with new people.

If left on my own or in a position to show other dogs who I am, I display a happy-go-lucky, carefree, engaging, adaptive, and cheerful attitude in a general situation. Something I learned in order to survive my previous situation.

Right now I am looking for a home with patience while I learn what it's like to be a normal dog that is part of a normal home so I can just be me.

Imagine if you will being an adult that is my size and for the first time you get to … go outside. Just the sheer vastness of never-ending space and scenery can be breathtaking but also overwhelming.

I have only recently learned what a yard is and what it means to potty outside, amazing by the way. I do try to put on a brave face and I will go where I am asked to go, but oh man, is it really hard sometimes to retain the brave persona.

With patience, training, and learning by example I have learned to share generic shared space (like a paly area) with other dogs while supervised but I do not like to share my stuff, which should be understandable.

While I do get along with other dogs that are my size, as long as they are docile like me, I would be okay in a home where I am the only dog. Sorry, but kids and I are not a good combination, at least not right now.

Something else that was new for me, going to the vet. The rescue has had all of my medical taken care of. That’s right! I was neutered, received all my shots, was dewormed, have a microchip, and I had a dental done – that was the worst part for me, I lost a fair amount of teeth but now I am happy, healthy, and pain-free! I just need a bit more weight on me, but that will come as my fear subsides.

Overall, right now I am shy and a bit scared of new surroundings and people as well as a little unsure around new dogs. I feel like I have to act bravely and defend what is mine if cornered (by a dog) now that I know what it’s like to not have to fight for things like my food, water, and personal space.

With new people I just freeze and cower awaiting the impending pickup, hoping it’s a positive outcome. I breathe a sigh of relief and I will show you how relieved I am when it is!

What I’m trying to say is that, while I am still learning what freedom, independence, and being a confident, normal, content dog is, if I am in the right home with the right peeps, I can and will be an amazing companion who will love and cherish every last pet, cuddle and treat I receive. Are you willing to take a chance on me?

If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please click the Adoption Application button below and an adoption counselor will reach back out to you.

Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications from interested parties who are in or near North County, San Diego, California at this time.