Small Breed Rescue of Southern California

Adoption Details For Ben!





Type Dog
Primary Breed Chihuahua
Secondary Breed
Name Ben
Gender Male
Spayed / Neutered Yes
Primary Color Apricot
Secondary Color White
Pattern
Age 8 Year(s) 0 Month(s) Old
Weight 7 lbs. 15 oz.
Markings
Hi! My name is Ben! My foster mom calls me Bouncy Benny because of my playfulness when I get to run up and down the hall.

I was transferred to the rescue to help with my social skills from another rescue. Originally, my owner was no longer able to care for me. I’m a sweet, loving and playful boy once I get to know you. Nothing would make me happier than to find someone to devote myself to! You won’t find a more dedicated, loving companion!

Because I have been bounced around a bit since I left my home, I can be a little picky about who I like at first. If you have the right kind of food though, I would be more interested in getting to know you quicker! It may take me a while to trust that you will be my forever home so if you are willing to be patient with me, I am willing to take over your couch!

I would do well with a single person who is looking for a companion or even a couple, but please no kids. Although I have been living with other dogs my size, I would do best in a home as an only dog. I wouldn't mind going on walks to meet new friends but dog parks and doggie daycare aren't my thing.

Walks will be something that I will need pretty much daily. I have worked hard to keep my weight at a good level so walks will help me to maintain or even get to a healthier weight. Exercise is an important component to keeping me a happy and healthy pup!

I still need some help with my manners and learning so I would do well with some additional positive reinforcement training. One of the things that I still need to work on is being comfortable around strangers. If I had food to focus on I would be more inclined to let new people around me as long as they respected my space.

I am crate trained and love to have my personal space. Though I may have an accident or two while I get used to my new home, I am potty trained when you are home but if you are gone too long, being crate trained can help.

My foster parents have helped me to learn some manners or what we call 'Petiquette' and how to be calm. For example, I can sit and wait to receive my food! I have a moderate activity level, which means I get really excited to greet you, and really excited when it's mealtime, but I also enjoy spending time relaxing and snuggling, so if you have a comfy couch or lap we will be great friends!

Medically I don't have the typical issues like bad knees but I do have a lump or bump here and there - the doctor says they are nothing to be worried about but an annual check-up to make sure things are all well will be needed, especially as I get older.

If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please click the Adoption Application button below and you will be contacted to set up a date!

If you would like to foster me, please complete the Foster Application here > https://www.smallbreedrescue.org/Home/Foster

PS: My vaccinations are up to date, I am microchipped & neutered, and my teeth have been cleaned :)

Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications for interested parties who are in or near San Diego County, California at this time.