Adoption Details For Meeko!



Profile Image
Name:
Meeko
Animal Id:
9403
Date Created:
12/23/2022 10:08:01 AM
Age:
11 Year(s) 8 Month(s) Old
Type:
Dog
Gender:
Male
Primary Breed:
Maltese
Spayed / Neutered:
Yes
Secondary Breed:
Miniature Poodle
Microchip:
Primary Color:
White
Markings:
Secondary Color:
Pattern:
Weight:
10 lbs

Hi! My name is Meeko, a name that has several meanings but I like that it means ‘bud’ as in buddy. I’m looking for someone who is looking for a lil buddy like me. I’m sweet, calm, gentle, quiet and content. Being 90% deaf makes me a pretty laid-back kind of pup but I can read your hand signals and body language when you ask me to do something, like go for a walk! Walks are my jam though I’m no athlete. My foster mom takes me on 2 – 3 short walks a day. When I’m not walking I am either sleeping (I am a professional napper after all) or wondering what you are making in the kitchen, I adore all food. My new home would need to be set up to understand my limitations because I am deaf. I will need a solid routine and guidance as well as security when unattended to do my best. Originally I was found as a stray and put into the care of a shelter. I was a mess covered in mats but they groomed me right away. They had me in foster care for a short while and then transferred me to what was thought to be a rescue. Unfortunately after almost a year the ‘rescue’ did not recognize the signs that said I really needed to be seen by a vet. Instead, they saw me as a problem that wasn’t adoptable and transferred me to a real rescue (thankfully). SBRSC took me to the vet the very next day! After several medical checks, I was treated and healed from a severe ear infection that I had in both ears and may have been a primary contributor to my hearing loss, a urinary tract infection that was making me seem incontinent, and a yeast infection on my skin that made me scaly, itchy, and smelly. I had been miserable for so long but now I feel amazing! Other than routine vet checks, I am great with daily joint supplements in my high-quality food (oh how I love food), an ear cleaning once a week, going to the groomers once a month, and even though I am potty trained, I should wear a belly band to avoid accidents if you are gone for more than 2 – 4 hours. If you can, I’d love to go on outings with you. I do great on car rides and I love going to coffee shops with friends. Be aware though that my excitement can get me carried away a bit and I may bark with joy saying hello to everyone. And while I do love to go on walks, I see no shame in taking a stroller ride if the walk is long of if I am slower than everyone else. Feel free to dress me up when we go out too, I love fashion! When I speak of others, I love all people, but I would prefer a more mature home that doesn’t have a lot of hustle and bustle. Other animals are great as long as they are chill like me. Dogs, cats, birds, it doesn’t matter to me, everyone to me is a buddy! If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please click the Adoption Application button below and you will be contacted by one of our adoption counselors! PLEASE NOTE: Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications for interested parties who are in or near North County San Diego, California at this time.